Boris Johnson denied entry to Russia – Invasion of Ukraine

Boris Johnson denied entry to Russia – Invasion of Ukraine

Today, the Russian Foreign Ministry announced that British Prime Minister Boris Johnson was banned from entering Russia in response to the sanctions imposed by London over the military invasion of Ukraine.

The ban on entering the country also extends to other senior British officials, including several members of Boris Johnson’s government, according to the ministry headed by Sergei Lavrov.

And the Russian diplomacy justified, “This measure was taken in response to the unbridled political and media campaign aimed at isolating Russia internationally and creating conditions (…) stifling the national economy.”

According to Moscow, the British government “deliberately aggravated the situation around Ukraine by filling the Kyiv regime with lethal weapons and coordinating similar efforts by NATO.”

They emphasized that “the anti-Russian policy of the British authorities, which have taken upon themselves the strengthening of a negative attitude towards our country and the freezing of bilateral relations in practically all areas, is detrimental to the well-being and interests of the population of Great Britain itself.” • Foreign Affairs.

In addition to Boris Johnson, the Russian entry ban also includes Deputy Prime Minister Dominic Raab, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, Defense Secretary Ben Wallace, former Prime Minister and now MP Theresa May and Scottish Prime Minister Nicola Sturgeon, according to AFP.

Russia launched a military attack on Ukraine on February 24 that killed nearly 2,000 civilians, according to United Nations data, which warns that the real number is likely to be much higher.

The war caused more than 11 million people to flee, more than 5 million of them to neighboring countries.

The international community in general condemned the Russian invasion, and responded by sending weapons to Ukraine and strengthening economic and political sanctions against Moscow.